A- A A+

The members of the Kansas Council on Developmental Disabilities are responsible to carry out the provisions of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act (DD Act). Serving a maximum of two four-year terms, the 40-member Council represents the state and is composed of 60% of people with intellectual and other developmental disabilities (I/DD) or family members or guardians. Of those, at least 33% is required to be self-advocates. The remainder of the Council is made up of representatives from state agencies, nonprofit and professional organizations.

Current KCDD Chair

thumb karey padding kcdd council member

 Karey Padding,
Andover, KS

Council Members


 Josh Alters

Josh Alters
Topeka, KS


 Josh Alters

Kayzy Bigler
Topeka, KS 

  Daniel Decker

Stacy Crow
Goodland, KS


 Daniel Decker

Daniel Decker
Topeka, KS



Michael Fairchild

Shirley Fessler,
Topeka, KS



Nikki Heiman

Austin Hanson,
Topeka, KS


Michele Heydon
Topeka, KS


Alternate: Paula Morgan



Sarah Meitner

Sarah Meitner
Hays, KS 



Bert Moore, 
Topeka, KS 

Dean Zajic

Alternate: Dean Zajic



Rocky Nichols

Rocky Nichols
Topeka, KS

Alternate: Mike Burgess



thumb karey padding kcdd council member

 Colin Olenick,
Olathe, KS


Skylar Schwindt

Skylar Schwindt
Wichita, KS


karey padding kcdd council member

Fran Seymour-Hunter,
Topeka, KS

Alternate: Lisa Goins  


thumb Sean Swindler kcdd alternate council member

Karrie Shogren
Lawrence, KS


 Bill Story

Bill Story
Overland Park, KS


Charting the

Develop a vision for a good life.
Think about what you need to know and do.
Identify how to find or develop supports.
Discover what it takes to live the life you want to live.


View Resources

Five Year State Plan

· Creating Leaders & Empowering Advocacy
· Leading Systems Change


Read State Plan

Back to top